Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since there is computer technology. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The onset of computer technology has resulted in many changes in our lifestyle. There are some people who are on the opinion that public reading places have now become redundant due with the spread of internet and that economic resources are getting wasted due to the cost spent for up-keep of such places while other do not agree with this observation. This essay will argue in detail how public libraries are still a preferred choice for many individuals.

To start with, access to information on computer requires high-speed internet. This is especially true in case the information is required for some analysis or thesis where numerous documents have to be referred to. Assuming that everyone would have the economic resources to procure a connection would be fool-hardy, as internet is still considered as a luxury, un-affordable by many. For instance, in a country like India, people have to shell-out a hefty sum to get access to decent internet connection for continuous streaming. As against this, libraries do not have pose any such cost related issues as most of the time, the registration is either free or is available at a nominal cost. It gives the reader the advantage of reading more than one book at a time with no connection to speed.

Another aspect which makes library a preferable choice for many is that it is free from unnecessary distractions like advertisements and pop-ups. In a library, there are no such distractions and so the reader can approach the subject of his interest with a calm mind and can focus without disturbances. For example, when children are browsing through net, there are several advertisements and pop-ups which offer them access to various other sites that are irrelevant to them. It tries to lure them away from the task at hand. Most schools therefore have well-stocked libraries to inculcate habit of reading among children, which in itself is a good habit.

To conclude, public libraries must be well-maintained because of the benefits they offer over computer technology including cost-effectiveness due to its lack of dependency on high-speed internet and avoiding pointless commercials and links to other websites which divert users, especially young children.