Maintaining public libraries is a waste of time since digital technology is now replacing their function To what extent do you agree or disagree

Nowadays a great quantity of people read on electronic devices, such as laptop and kindle, rather than read books due to the advancement of digital technology. Therefore, some people assert that it is a waste of time and money to maintain public libraries because of the popularity of e-book. However, I utterly disagree this view.

To begin with, digital technology substantially changed the way that many people read books. With the convenience derived from digital technology and abundant choice from internet, numerious people form the habit of reading e-book other than reading printed books. The trend is revealed by the sale of kindle from Amazon, which sold 16 million devices in 2016. Nonetheless, this phenomenon does not imply that nobody reads books made from paper and borrows books from public library.

As a matter of fact, public library is still a prime destination for majority people to read and borrow books. The Brisbane Square Library, for example, opens seven days in a week and is nearly crowed with readers every day. One main reason is that most people enjoy the form of reading a printed book that readers can use a bookmark to remind the reading progress. Another reason is that public libraries arrange books according to subject that is easy to choose for each reader's perference. In addition, watching e-books on electronic devices would easily result in fatigue of eyes, which is the reason that eldsters and near sighted people prefer to read printed books.

To recapitulate, digital technology truly changed the reading habit of a proportion of people; nonetheless, a majority of readers stick the habit of reading books made from paper. Thus, maintainence on public libraries is not a waste of time.