Maintaining public libraries is a waste of time since digital technology is now replacing their function. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

To get the task response right you need to

discuss both public libraries and digital technology

state a clear position saying to what extent you agree – the basic options being a lot/not at all/slightly

It is certainly true new forms of technology has affected the way we read and libraries are no longer as relevant as they once were. Despite this, I strongly believe that it is of paramount importance that local and central governments should continue to support public libraries. In this essay I discuss why they are still a necessary institution in the digital age as there are limits to the new digital technology and libraries are important community centres.

One reason for arguing that libraries are still necessary is that they are vital parts of local communities especially for the older generation. This is because public libraries do not just lend books but also typically serve as community centres which provide a range of different services including hosting talks and lectures, providing information about the local area, access to computers and careers advice. Additionally, many older people rely on libraries as somewhere to go in order to enjoy a few moments of peace and quiet in relaxing surroundings and they would suffer greatly if they were abolished.

A second argument for maintaining public libraries is that they provide free access to books for everyone. This is a significant point as a large section of society are unable to pay for books online or do not have access to computers or smart phones or are simply uncomfortable using digital technology and would never read online. Indeed, research shows that only a relatively small percentage of the population use devices such as a Kindle to read and this means that books have not become obsolete. As this is the case, it is surely the duty of the authorities to provide access to books to those who want it.

In conclusion I believe it would be entirely wrong for public libraries to disappear as reading through digital technology is not universally accepted and libraries offer far more than mere lending services.