Many animal species are becoming extinct as a result of human activities. What are the causes and possible solutions to this problem?

It is an undeniable fact that most of the creatures are now on the verge of extinction because of the catastrophic human activities. The main causes include the loss of habitat and hunting of animals for various purposes. The solution to this problem will require participation by individuals ranging from the common people to the government officials.

To begin with, the major reason for some animal species becoming endangered is the damage caused to their natural habitats. For activities such as road and house construction and making way for fields, deforestation has been carried out by the authorities and the farmers respectively which has drastically impacted the count of wild animals. For instance, the giant panda species has been declared extinct despite the establishment, since 1963, of 14 panda reserves in China. To combat this situation, the regime should chalk out conservation management plans to build more reserves, promote reforestation and protect the forest boundaries. This can substantially contribute to saving the creatures from getting disappeared from the planet.

Another significant cause of extinction of many animals involves animal poaching and hunting by humans. Many people illegally use the skin and other body parts of animals for smuggling which fetches them a whopping sum of money. To exemplify, white tigers and black deers are hunted by many for their skins and teeth which has led to a shocking decline in their overall count. As a potential solution to this problem, the government should implement stringent laws against illegal hunting of endangered species and more importantly, people should also follow them diligently.

To conclude, undoubtedly, thousands of animal species have become either endangered or completely extinct mainly because of various environmental threats posed by mankind, such as deforestation and animal-hunting. Such an issue can be controlled to a considerable extent if authorities introduce heavy penalties against forest destruction and illegal animal hunting, and people also abide by the rules actively.