In many cities today, most people live in large apartment blocks. Does this kind of accommodation have more advantages or disadvantages ?

Increasing number of people are preferring to opt for a flat in apartments as their habitation, in most cities. In my opinion, since housing is a serious problem, especially in urban areas, due to growing population, apartment offer more upsides compared to raw houses.

To begin with, multi-storey buildings are an excellent solution to the housing crisis arising these day in major cities because of growing number of people are migrating to urban areas, in the hope of better employment opportunities. Besides, separate house costs king' ransom while flats offer an excellent value for money, which a commoner can easily afford. Take for an example, a two bedrooms and a kitchen flat costs half the price of house with same floor area. Thus, people prefer to stay in apartment blocks over raw houses.

On the other hand, builders construct apartments with an aim to accommodate as many residence as they can, to make it more cost effective, which leads to huge congestion. As a result, there is hardly any open space available to set up any play areas for families with children or to expand it in the long run. Moreover, helding a function at home would be difficult because of space and it causes inconvenience to the neighbours who live right next door on the same floor.

In conclusion, although there are downside of apartments, it can be easily overcome if they are built by following good standards. If governments ensure strict regulation while setting up a colony, more people will choose to stay in flats.