Many countries aim to improve their living standards by economic development, but some important social values are lost as a result.

Do you think the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages

The developed nations focuses on their economic policies in order to provide their citizens a better living. However, in the process it is thought that the social values are lost. This essay will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of economic development.

Many nations today are thriving due to their ecocnomy. In such countries, medicine and education are provided are free as that is the priority for everyone. Despite of worrying about their future citizens of such nations can be relaxed. To exemplify, many European nations provide free education and health care for all their citizens, as a result, many aim to go to European countries to settle there, as they believe that their future generations can get a better life. Thus, the positives of economic development are significant and crucial for any nation to prosper.

On the other hand, when economic development is attained, it is perceived that social values are overlooked. In rich countries, each and every individual is given utmost importance, as a matter of fact, they are pampered which makes few take things for granted. When there is no necessity to work for their future, people often become self-centered and lose purpose in life. According to a survey conducted by Ministry of Educational Departement in USA, out of all the graduates from top schools only 38% are native Americans. Thus, the drawbacks are clearly evident which should not be overlooked in order to secure their position among developed nations.

To conclude, although people become lazy when a government fulfills all their needs, I believe merits of economic development definetly outweighs the demerits. Therefore, health and education help many succeed in their life than making them lose their purpose.