Many countries are experiencing population growth and a need for more homes. Should these new homes be constructed in the existing cities or should new towns be built for this purpose? Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The population is increasing day by day and building homes for all the people has become a major cause for concern. According to some people, new homes should be built within existing cities; however, others opine that new residential colonies should be built to house people who do not have a roof over their head. In my opinion, both options have their merits and demerits and the government should consider them both.

Expansion of the existing city is a good idea as it is already functioning and has proper infrastructure. If more people join this group, there will not be any discomfort. In fact, they will also contribute towards the development and economic growth of that area by serving and paying taxes. Therefore, this would be a cheaper, easier and convenient way of accommodating the growing population. However, the government should monitor the number of occupants because over-occupancy may deteriorate the quality of people’s lives in these areas.

On the other hand, building new towns is a great option if implemented in the right manner. If the government takes care of the industrial and agricultural development of a place, a new town can take birth. Also, this will generate a huge number of employment options. In addition, the creation of new small towns will discourage people from migrating to big cities. For example, Surat in Gujarat is a small town developed in this manner, today it is one of the top 10 industrial areas in India.

In conclusion, I believe that the problem of building housing for the increasing population can be tackled by expanding existing cities and constructing new towns. In either case, it is important for the government to ensure that adequate facilities are in place before cities are expanded or built.