Thanks to the development of science and technology, standards of living are getting more and more enhanced. Therefore, we can witness the fact that people get higher life expectancy, especially in modern countries. I suppose that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages and this essay will discuss both with some demonstration.

On the one hand, the increase in life expectancy can be a burden to society. Although people live longer, they find it challenging to work productively in comparison to the young generation. Furthermore, their family and government must pay a lot for the extra expense of sanitary, welfare, and especially medicine. In addition, it is clear that their relatives have to spend time on taking care of them while they have numerous tasks to accomplish. Another negative aspect is experiencing a drill life. To be more specific, The longer they live, the more bored they get. It seems that the generation gap is an obstacle so that they rarely connect with their children.

On the other hand, having a longer expectancy helps people get more time to accomplish their dream that they have not yet done before. Seeing that when they were young, they must earn living and take care of their family. Therefore, they did not enjoy their life and pursue their aspiration. For example, some older people settle up many clubs such as dancing, music, and so on in order that they can discuss and practice together and please themselves. Besides, They devote their experience and value to the community. By the way of example, some scientists donated their life to research and innovation in terms of development of human. Moreover, they transmit profound knowledge to the young generation in order to enhance quality of education.

In conclusion, the merits of having longer expectancy are more reasonable than the drawbacks. Nevertheless, we should consider both sides and seek for solutions to balance them.