Over recent years, citizens in various nations have had a longer life-span compared with the past. While the matter is advantageous in a few aspects, the demerits are more significant.

There are some benefits the increase of longevity gains. This is firstly because the elderly can enjoy a long and fulfilling retirement. It means that they have more spare time so as to travel around the world and participate in favourite activities, which seems impossible to be performed while working and bringing up a family. In addition to this, it is argued that the phenomenon takes the burden off of busy parents. For example, grandparents can look after kids and give advice to young generations, who are inexperienced in life.

However, the disadvantages of the situation are much more considerable. An important reason is that health-care costs rise significantly. The elderly are so prone to chronic illnesses such as diabetes and bone diseases, which are not cured easily that they usually have a general check-upnand buy medicine . Another reason is economic pressure to sustain older generations. In other words, the government have to take solutions to rise pension funds for all retired people.

In conclusion, increasing life expectancy is associated with many shortcomings, which far outweigh the benefits.