Over recent years, a rising trend in life expectancy has been evidently observed in a number of global locations. Despite the fact that it has both positive and negative aspects, I firmly believe that the disadvantages of this phenomenon exceed the benefits.

On the one hand, longer life expectancy is considered as a symbol of better life. It contributes to personal happiness by giving the people themselves the chance to spend more time with their loved ones. In addition, when people live longer they get an opportunity to fulfill their wishes and obligations. Thus, they will be able to serve the society with their experience and wisdom.

On the other hand, living a longer life has its disadvantages. Firstly, as people live longer, there will surely be a significant increase in the population of elderly individuals. If there is no one to care for them at home, they may have to go to an old age home. Second, the expense of providing insurance and healthcare services for the elderly is relatively expensive for families and governments at the time being. One example is that in the US alone, 4 in 10 persons report having debt because of medical expenses for their older relatives. Last but not least, as life expectancy increases, there will be less job vacancies for younger person. Besides, they don’t have the ability to work or generate income which in turn affect the economy

In conclusion, even though the benefits of longevity seems alluring under some certain circustances , the disadvantages still outweigh the benefits.