In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing.

Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Recent advancements in industrialization has led people’s migration from villages to cities, this has sparked a debate; whether it is advantageous or not? This essay will examine the benefits and drawbacks of these developments and provide my opinion. I believe it is not a positive development as migration to cities disconnection from nature.

One of the primary benefits of people moving to cities is social status. For example, it allows people to get access to new technology to get upgraded from mediocre lifestyle. A recent study conducted by “The Tribune” in India that revealed that 75% of people moved to cities for their social status. Furthermore, education and distance are the two another reasons, as outskirts are not developed area, therefore, it lacks high ranked education institutes, which results in long distance commute and time consuming for people living in countryside.

However, migration also presents certain drawbacks. For instance, although it offers many advantages, but this development has been resulting in converting agricultural land into residential buildings. This is evident in cities like; Delhi and Mumbai, where the countryside has been taken into the city and now there is no land for agriculture. Moreover, since it leads to other issues, such as; congested residential areas and life without nature. As most of the thing in cities are man-made, therefore, children will value material over nature.

In conclusion, while there are valid concerns about migration to cities, I maintain that it will lead to destruction of emotion for nature. The drawbacks, such as; losing agricultural land and choosing materialistic world over nature, outweighs advantages. Therefore, I believe that government should take action to promote countryside benefits in order for people to stay connected to nature.