In many countries around the world young people decide to leave their parents’ home once they finish school. They start living on their own or sharing a home with friends. Is this a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples.

In most of the western countries, values such as self-reliant and independence are highly valued. Owing to this, youngsters make up their minds to leave their family and prefer to either live alone or with their friends. This trend is a positive advancement since it instils a sense of responsibility and better parent-child relationship.

Once a person starts to live all by themself or with friends, they immediately realize to be more responsible. In other words, now they are no more in their family home, they have to do most of the household work alone or distribute it with friends. In addition, while renting a place one must pay rent as well as adhere to the landlord’s rules, thus, they embark on financial planning and also start to realize the importance of following rules. For instance, after living in a rented apartment for almost a year, I am more aware of my spending habits and can certainly say that I have become a master at managing money.

Apart from this, when a young individual is living away from their family, they tend to realize the importance of family in their life. They become aware of the things their parents did for them which they took for granted at that time. For example, whether it was my father accompanying me the first day of my job or my mother’s care when I was sick, I miss them since there is no one to whom I can share my feelings with a piece of genuine advice. Thus, not living with my family has brought me closure to my mom and dad. This experience has brought me, and my parents close and improved our relationship.

To conclude, living alone or with friends brought a sense of greater responsibilities and improved personal relationship, so this trend is highly positive.