In many countries around the world young people decide to leave their parents’ home once they finish school. They start living on their own or sharing a house with friends. Is this a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples.

Today, most single unmarried youngsters leave home for employment or to study in another city and do not live with their parents till they are married as in the older generations. Learning to live on their own would certainly aid the youth of today to become independent but there will also be some drawbacks and this essay will discuss this in further detail with reasons and examples.

One evident benefit of having to live on your own is that it would an opportunity for an individual to explore their freedom. In addition, this a great way for a person to enjoy his space with no home rules. For example, I could set my own sleep schedule, food preferences and never had to do my home routines after I moved out of my parents’ home to study. The independence to decide and support my needs was a rewarding experience.

On the other hand, there was pressure to constantly meet the living expenses, a big disadvantage. Despite initial financial support, most would find managing expenses a difficult task, and learning is often through costly errors. For instance, I had rent, utility bills, groceries, and medical expenses to manage and budget. I was in deep debt in months due to unwise spending habits, the repayment took several years.

In conclusion, while there are several plus points to moving out for education or employment, the cons of financial difficulties, emotional discomfort can not be ignored. A good approach to moving out would be to understand how to manage money and choose an appropriate safe place to live and stay in contact with your parents even if you are away.