In many countries crime is increasing what are the main reason for this?

What can be to improve this situation

Crime is a cause of widespread concern today. Many nations of the world have witnessed an increasing number of criminal activities.

This problem stems from poverty. A lot of people cannot afford to put three square meals on their table and also find it difficult to fend for their families. This has led them into violating laws to earn a living for themselves. Of recent, I watched a news on the media about a young man who kidnapped his boss's wife and demanded a ransom of 5million before he was caught up by the police. In an interview with the man, he said he did this because he had four children and wanted to give them the best in life.

Also, the state of the nation's economy is a source of concern to many . This has left no alternative to people than to engage in some criminal acts - such as kidnapping, cyber crimes and stealing. For instance, Nigeria has been experiencing a down-turn in their economy , a lot of people are out of job. Because of it, the rate of crimes in Nigeria has increased.

Turning to possible solutions, probably the most effective measure is to create more jobs .This will help people feed their families and the rate at which people violate laws will be decreased. Ultimately, the government should make policies that can help to boost the economy.

In conclusion, unless efforts are made to shift the public consciousness from crime, by creating jobs for the teeming populace, this issue will only escalate.