The development of transportation industry was immense over the centuries, which led to strict regulations being implemented. While, the age restrictions for driving had become mandatory, the norms in some nations authorize people to drive once they reach eighteen years of age. This is contradicted by growing number of people who suggest the age to start driving should be twenty-five. We will discuss both views here.

Countries having provisions for young adults to drive, point out to the undeniable fact that people get their voting rights when they turn eighteen, which is an equally responsible duty offered to any nation by its citizen. Also, the need for adults to drive is increasing in recent years due to the reason that, they become more independent in their young age. For example, a huge number of school going students drive themselves to and from schools nowadays. For this reason, Governments have set this age mark to ease the pressure of depending on others.

A handful of people, on contrary, opine that driving requires more attention and responsibility, which young adults lack. People over twenty years of age are more efficient, careful and do not indulge in reckless driving. Moreover, there are chances of young adults engaging themselves in delinquency and cause more accidents. A recent statistics for instance, reported that more road accidents are being caused by drivers below the twenty years mark. Adding to that, mature adults possess immense experience which eventually abates the rates of bad incidents.

On the whole, even though there is an immediate need for self-reliability among young adults to drive, it does not prove to be safe for themselves and others. But, mature adults would be more cautious when it comes to driving. Hence, I feel that the age criteria should be twenty-five years for driving.