In many countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose higher tax on this kind of food.To what extent do you agree or disagree with

There is no denying that all the generations across the world are suffering from fitness issue due to the over-consumption of junk food. As the quantity of intake of food is always an individual choice thus the government should not be encouraged to levy high tax on food to make availability out of reach for a common man. I disagree with the given statement and will support this view with arguments in the following paragraph.

I believe, if the government will impose heavy excise on fast food then it is not confirmed that society will stop eating junk food due to higher prices. However, this will not be a favorable solution to the problem and masses will suffer from this. In a recent survey happened in China, 70% of professionals have been consuming fast food as their working lunch. This kind of solution of charging high tax on fast food will an additional burden on all these professionals.

Consequently, this will an adverse effect on the economy too. If people will stop consuming fast food to high prices due to heavy duty on the food then there would be a chance of sellers of such food will stop production and this will cause lower sales of ingredient and this may disturb the whole supply chain system.

As far as public health is concerned, the government should educate people to adopt a healthy lifestyle along with this the government should control the quality of fast food to minimize the damage to public health due to this.

Taking everything into account, I must say that the authority should opt alternate ways to address the issue of public fitness due to junk food rather than making fast food costlier for the mass community.