In many countries, life expectancy is increasing, thereby forcing people to work hard for their retirement benefits. There is an alternative option saying that people should be working earlier in their younger years. Is this a positive or negative development?

The worldwide increase in the average life expectancy of people has resulted in many individuals working until they reach their elderly years to pay for their retirement. Nevertheless, there are those who put forward the idea of getting employed at an earlier age as an alternative to this, which I believe to be highly beneficial to the working population, companies, and the entire nation.

In most cases, having a job at a younger age is extremely advantageous to individuals. This allows them to be employed during their most generative years and obtain valuable work experience and marketable skills much earlier in life. In effect, these people achieve greater career success and accumulate wealth ahead of others, enabling them to retire before they get too old to enjoy their retirement.

This practice is also of great help to companies. Compared to older ones, younger employees are arguably more productive, motivated, enthusiastic, and goal-oriented. These individuals can provide new ideas, come up with ingenious solutions, and bring fresh perspectives to the establishments they work for, ultimately leading to improved productivity and financial gains in various industries.

Although it is customary for people to keep on working until they reach the age of retirement, this has proven to be seriously detrimental to governments. Having an aged labor force has been associated with greater employment competition and higher unemployment rates, which can weaken a nation’s economy. On the contrary, the robust increases in economic growth seen in many developing countries today have been broadly linked by experts to having younger professionals recruited into the workforce.

On the whole, being employed earlier instead of working until one ages is clearly an attractive option. Such practice can produce many favorable outcomes, which can substantially benefit individuals, businesses, and communities.