Some people say that it is possible to tell a lot about a person’s culture and character from their choice of clothes.

Do you agree or disagree?

There are those who argue that individuals’ background and personality can be recognized to a greater extent once they have looked at their choice of clothes. I am one of those who oppose this notion.

It is probably true to say that many cultures share the same style of clothing. This is because a lot of similar raw materials are being used to make clothes, which are also crafted in the same manner. This can be also attributed to sharing of one common ancestry. For example, Latinos and Filipinos share a lot of background and chief among them is what and how they dress. Without a doubt, it is difficult to tell a person’s culture based solely on outfits.

In the same manner, choosing what clothes to wear is ambiguous for us to know a person’s character. The reason for this is that there are many factors to consider why a person is wearing something at the moment. For instance, I myself prefer to wear bright-colored shirts during summer but I would refrain from wearing this if I am attending a funeral. What is more, people tend to experiment with their wardrobe as to not look old-fashioned or the same all the time. Indeed, it is almost impossible to know the personality of an individual based on clothes alone.

In conclusion, I disagree with the idea that the choice of clothes can be used to deeply recognize a person’s culture and personality as cultures tend to blend with one another while character is a much broader aspect to define.