In many countries, people now wear western-style dress such as suits and jeans rather than traditional clothing. Why is that? Is this a positive or negative development?

It is true that many people around the world now dress the way western citizens do; suits and jeans are good examples. There exist a number of compelling reasons behind this increasing trend. However, it is considered to be a negative evolution.

To begin with, some reasons are behind this phenomenon. Firstly, piquing more and more local people’s interest, especially juveniles, these western societies are very influential when it comes to fashion. In other words, the indigenous residents of more third-world countries tend to copy the latest fashion designs (dress code) introduced in the western world. The existence of the internet also expedites this trend as many social networking applications, such as Instagram and Facebook, are a perfect showcase for the latest dress code by desirable models. Therefore, the youngsters of these local areas find them attractive, and in turn, have the tendency to mindlessly follow the western culture.

This development, however, is believed to be not quite positive. As a matter of fact, traditional grab carries a great part of history with itself. It simply means that they are a meaningful and noteworthy aspect of culture and tradition of each territory. It is very beautiful when we see that indigenous people wear their own local-style dresses in their ceremonies. So, if those people avoid using their conventional dresses and clothes, it is aking to losing their identity. Thus, all members of different cultures should take the responsibility to save their local customs as well as other traditions.

In conclusion, globalization is happening all over the world. Needless to say that clothing is not an exception, and is undergoing massive changes. Nevertheless, local traditions, as well as their clothing styles, should be preserved and protected since it is a paramount facet of their history.