In many countries, people today are living in a "throwaway society", where things are used in a short time and then thrown away. What are its causes. What are its problems.

The phenomenon of “throwaway societies» has become a wide-spread issue in the modern world. There seem to be several reasons and consequences of this challenge, which will be discussed in this essay.

Speaking about possible reasons, first of all, the persistent increase of amount of products consumed by the population should be mentioned. In other words, nowadays, people prefer purchasing a new item instead of repairing a broken one contributing to the growth of production. Another significant reason for this trend appears to be the global market which facilitates the spreading of disposable goods, such as plastic bottles and dishes. In many cases, this plastic items should be recycled, however, there are many countries, which cannot manage this challenge and just gather all waste in remote areas. Finally, the economy of many countries was built in the way requiring the annual growth. Thus, to encourage creating of an efficient market and, as a result, a high level of revenue, the industry has started to produce low-quality products. So, customers have to update their stuff and equipment more frequently.

When it comes to possible consequences of the discussed tendency, no doubts, aggravation of litter problem has become the dramatic outcome of “throwaway society” and a burning issue for each country. For instance, endless amount of plastic stuff seems to be contained in the world ocean. Also, gathering rubbish on remote locations without recycling influences negatively on the local environment contributing to contamination of soil, water, and air. Finally, being generally accepted fact, the industrial growth exacerbates the global warming issue.

All in all, the main reasons for existing of “throwaway societies» appear to be high-level of humans consumption and industrial production, which leads to global ecological problems.