In many countries plastic bags are the main source of rubbish causing pollution in oceans and on land; therefore they should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Banning plastic bags as an approach to prevent environmental degradation and pollution is a controversial issue. I completely agree with this issue because plastic bags have harmful effects on humans and animals and banning the use of them would be perfectly beneficial. This essay is going to support this idea in details and give some more specific examples.

Plastic bags are manufactured using nonrenewable resources such as petroleum which can be used for many other important productions instead. Nonrenewable resources are priceless and it is not worth to use them to produce plastic bags just for carrying goods. In addition, these types of bags often contain polyethylene and cannot biodegrade. It means that if they are not recycled or disposed of properly, they become pollution like commonly see alongside the roads or floating in the water. Thus, putting a halt to plastic bags not only decline plastic pollution and litter but also save the valuable resources for more beneficial products.

Furthermore, these plastic bags litter are often mistaken for food by animals such as marine or birds. This endangered animals by choking, poisoning or entanglement which can result in death. In addition, another possible negative point of using plastic bags could be that millions of dollars are spent each year in litter clean-up costs which could spend in more efficient purposes such as education improvements issues or poverty eradication. Hence, forbidding the plastic bags usage can reduce its harmful effects on wildlife and human beings.

To conclude, reducing the litter and plastic pollution and impact on wildlife could be some of the benefits of banning the plastic bags. I completely agree that countries and governments put a halt to plastic ban use in order to prevent environmental pollution and protect wildlife.