Nowadays, people are commonly holding an opinion on the use of plastic shopping bags worldwide as a primary force that leads to severe harm to the environment, mainly to land and water, and therefore, it should be permanently prohibited. This essay solely agrees with the above idea and will give some plausible explanations as well as examples.

There is no room for doubt that the vast majority of garbage is plastic bags which greatly deteriorate the aquatic resources. First of all, plastic bags mainly littered to the environment, leading to sewage congestion. This is the major driver of heavy flooding in many areas, especially large cities, causing difficulties in transportation. Secondly, many aquatic species accidentally mistaken plastic bags as their food or preys, and thus leading to the death of these animals. Taking the Mekong river is a prime example, it has been recently observed that hundred of fish were killed due to the emissions of plastic bags to the ecosystem.

Meanwhile, these plastic bags also exert toxic effects on land resources. There are many assumptions that it takes approximately a few centuries for plastic material to be fully decomposed in the environment, and therefore, burying this type of material in landfills is not a wise option for many nations. Furthermore, plastic material manufacture consumes a great deal of energy and its side products are then disposed to the ecology causing heavy pollution. Some developed countries are taking advantage of advanced technology to create biodegradable bags involving biomaterial like lattice acid which is easily broken down after being used for years.

In conclusion, due to tons of disadvantages that plastic shopping bags bring for the biodiversity, it is understandable that it should be restricted and replaced by another environmentally-friendly material.