Nowadays, around the globe, the usage of plastic is getting increased day by day. Many companies around the world are using plastic for storing and transporting their products. Although many are against it, I firmly opine that the merit of companies using plastic containers clearly outweighs its demerits. In the below essay, I will discuss both the views with examples.

On the other hand, those who argue against it suggest that it creates environmental pollution. After usage, consumers throw away these containers, which are later eaten by stray and wildlife animals. Plastics also take a large amount of time to decompose, which causes a pile of garbage. However, the root cause of this issue is consumer themselves. After consumption, customers should be made aware of the proper usage of plastics. Companies are promoting a campaign to promote such awareness. For example, Coca-cola has urged its customer to return their cans to shops, and eventually, the consumer will get some rewards. Hence, companies are using a different medium to inform the customer regarding proper handling of plastics, which is the leading cause of environmental pollution.

On the other hand, The usage of plastic containers is highly economical for beverages companies. In other words, plastics have less weight as compared to other packaging materials. Hence it lowers the final product costs. Reduction in transportation cost is also feasible as these containers take less space, which aids in transporting a larger number of final goods in the domestic market, as well as benefitting the organisation in increasing its export profit margin. In addition, plastic containers also aid in providing final products to customer in varied size and shapes. It is beneficial for the consumer to choose material as per their packaging requirement.

In conclusion, for companies plastics containers are highly economical, though they damage the environment, companies are making their customer self-aware regarding the handling of these plastics. Thus, the merits of the usage of plastics by companies clearly outweigh the disadvantages.