In many countries plastic shopping bags are the main source of rubbish, causing pollution on land and in the water, so people think they should be banned. Do you agree or disagree?

Rationality of using plastic has been questioned for recent years in many nations. There are some people who consider that plastic packaging should be prohibited, because this is the most common type of waste and it poses a threat to the environment. I totally agree with this statement and believe that using plastic will be restricted in the future.

Firstly, plastic packaging is almost non-recyclable and in many cases is disposable. This means that unbelievably large amounts of plastic shopping bags are thrown away every day, but only some of these products will be recycled in decades or even hundreds years. Therefore, lands around the world are flooded by plastic rubbish. According to research conducted by Greenpeace in 2018 people dispose of trillion plastic packages in a year and it needs twenty years to be recycled. In other words, this kind of refuse becomes ubiquitous and causes soil pollution.

Secondly, plastic appears in the water in large amounts and sea animals are in danger because of it. That is because plastic packages cannot be digested by creature's digestive system. Hence, animals swallow packages which in its turn are collected in their organisms and kill them. For example, research conducted by the World Wide Fund of Nature in 2020 showed that about 270 species of sea animals suffered from plastic packaging. Thus, plastic packaging is a threat to biodiversity.

According to the arguments presented above I can say that plastic packaging is damaging to nature and it should be replaced by more sustainable products.