One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do you think advantages of this outweigh disadvantages?

Discussions regarding mortality have always been highly debatable in various societies around the world. The fact that the average life length is constantly growing is driven by the development of the modern healthcare system. Although lifespan extension is supposed to be a major culprit of overpopulation which is clearly a drawback, I believe that the benefits implied by the constant enhancement of medical services are more important.

On the one hand, the increased life cycle provokes the accumulation of people populating the Earth. This is because elderly people who used to naturally pass away at a certain age in the past are now enjoying longer lives, which, when accompanied by the dramatically growing number of human beings born each year, is creating additional burden on our planet. Moreover, the problem of extensive population entails more negative aspects such as the resources scarcity, which, in its turn, appears to be a cause of danger for other species inhabiting the world. For example, in 2016 United Nations reported that the lack of water entailed by uncontrollable birth rate in some African communities also affected the animals that lost some of their regular water sources.

On the other hand, the achievements of medical care allow regular people to better realize the beauties of their lives and enjoy the company of their families. Proceeding from this, due to the average lifespan extension senior citizens are now able to spend more time with their children and grandchildren. Moreover, this is not only making old people happier but also appears to be a major indicator of life quality as such. For instance, the latest rating prepared by the US National Bureau of Statistics was using life expectancy as one of their three most significant indicators for evaluation of life quality among countries.

In conclusion, even though the arguments against the enlarged life expectancy also look persuasive, I am convinced that the positive aspects of medical progress prevail over the negative ones.