Nowadays, there has been an enhancement in the number of working parents in many countries. In order to assist these parents, schools have started before and after school programs to let children stay at school longer hours. There are advantages and disadvantages with this scheme which will be elucidate in this essay.

First and the foremost, there are a few problems associating with before and after school care. When children spend long hours at school they become mentally stressed and physically exhausted. Moreover, children who stay back while watching other students getting picked up by their parents might feel neglected by their own parents. Due to these reasons, such a system can have a negative influence on a child’s health and development as well as their relationship with their parents.

Nevertheless, before and after school care systems prevent children from encountering situations with possible risks. There are plethora of potential incidents that can occur when children travel from home to school or vice versa, or stay at home alone without supervision. For instance, a young primary school student may cross the road after school and get ran over by a motor vehicle. Therefore, school care ensures parents of their children’s safety.

In a nutshell, having a school care system during odd hours, has both drawbacks and benefits. However, as it is designed to protect children from accidents while their parents are not able to provide supervision, the advantages of such program far outweighs limitations. Therefore, school care systems should remain available at schools for children of working parents.