In many countries today, crime novels and TV crime dramas are becoming more and more popular. Why do you think these books and TV shows are popular ? What is your opinion of crime fiction and TV crime dramas ?

In recent times, novels and TV shows of crime genre is gaining popularity all over the world. Crime based books and shows usually provide an adrenaline rush making them the most enjoyable. This essay will discuss the reasons for this trend and state my opinion about it.

To begin with, the main aspects contributing to the growing popularity of crime shows are the thrill and possibility of being an evolutionary benefit. Humans are naturally fascinated with the picturization of how a person’s mind works in such kind of intense events more than in romantic stories or comedies. For instance, crime documentaries and series like Dexter have garnered praise for engaging audience belonging to diverse age groups and societies. Furthermore, these shows are realistic and mirror true events building their plot around regular people, betrayals and tragic circumstances with unpredictable twists and turns.

In addition, crime novels and shows keep the readers, watchers engaged with the suspense of what happens next compelling them to guess the mystery in the story. For example, crime novel ‘Tell me your dreams’ portrays a mass murdering incident with unexpected twists until the real perpetrator is revealed. Such stories instill a feeling of excitement to the readers while guessing who the felon is. I think crime stories, besides being one of the best sources of entertainment, they act as learnings detailing how to identify a potential criminal and how to escape or tackle a dangerous situation.

In conclusion, I would say that an unpredictable and close to reality plots of crime genre are preferred by people thereby increasing their popularity by the day.