In many countries weddings are getting bigger and more expensive than the past Is this a positive or negative development

In today's modern era, weddings are flourishing extravagantly in numerous countries around the world and it has become very high-priced as compared to the past. This essay will analyse why is both beneficial and harmful for the society.

One of the main reasons for spending money so lavishly is because people want the nuptial to be special and memorable. Weddings are considered to be very pivotal in many cultures, which is an occasion that brings friends and family together to share this special day. To illustrate, there was an article in woman's magazine that according to a recent survey over 80% of matrimonial expenses are expanded so that the guests can be satisfied and pleased. Furthermore, society and media play a key role in influencing people on how a wedding should be conducted. Having a notion of fairy tale or romantic ceremony like those of celebrities makes a person want all the luxuries on their big day. For instance, getting inspired from the millennial wedding of actress Priyanka Chopra is dreamy and every couple would wish to have such a grand wedding. Hence, investing a load of money to make a wedding perfect and getting influenced by external factors can be incredibly satisfying for some people.

However, putting a good amount of money in marriage can have negative effects on newly married couples. Financial issues that are commonly seen like mortgage or funding for a new house can really be stressful for newly weds. Many couples need to save money to start a family, pay bills and education as all these things are considered to be vital by pairs who chose to have a simple and small scale wedding. For instance there are couples who have their big day in their backyard or in a church to eliminate the expenses of a large scale wedding. However, media and society puts pressure on many couples which can inevitable lead them to fall prey into severe debts. Therefore, these expenditures of hosting a grand celebration and getting controlled by multimedia can end up entangling couples into long unpaid debts.

In conclusion, having luxurious and large scale wedding to satisfy the crowd can have detrimental effects which can bring couples to endless financial worries for the future.