In recent times, re-offending after getting released from the prison is surging at an alarming rate. This occurrence has a number of causative factors including the negative outlook of the society towards criminals as well as lack of rehabilitation programme for the inmates. This essay will discuss the possible causes of this problem and propose some measures to address it.

Looking firstly at the causes, one of the most obvious reasons for re-offending is the negative attitude of our community against ex-convicts. This is because people think that offenders are still a threat for the society even if they have served their punishments, which compels them to adopt a repulsive behavior towards criminals. For instance, companies often deny job offers to lawbreakers once they get released from incarceration only because of the negative stereotype that prevails in the society. Another potential cause is the scarcity of rehabilitation programme in maximum prisons. In other words, although prisoners receive their sentences physically in the jail, psychologically they still retain the same criminalistic mindset due to the deprivation of counseling therapy. Therefore, their tendency to commit crimes might never fade away resulting in re-emergence into the dark world of criminal activities.

To combat this issue, two effective solutions can be implemented. Firstly, society needs to change its mentality towards the ex-criminals. To clarify, if these offenders receive emotional and financial support from the community as well as the government after their release, the likelihood of repeated indulgence in crime will become very negligible. Bangladesh is the epitome in this case as it has instigated vocational training facilities for its inmates, which, in turn, not only has increased the job opportunities for them but also has endowed them with the chance to lead a crime-free life. Secondly, government should allocate funds for offering rehabilitation to the prisoners. The reason behind this is that it would make the criminals realize their past mistakes incapacitating them to commit offences again.

To conclude, society’s apathetic attitude toward the criminals and deficiency of rehabilitation therapy are the prime reasons for the released criminals to orchestrate evil plans repeatedly. However, if government and society co-operate by taking the above mentioned steps, then this problem is not insurmountable at all.