Many criminals commit further crimes as soon as they released from prison.

What do you think are the causes of this?

What possible solutions can you suggest?

Statistically a person who has been once convicted has a 57 percent chance to be arrested again within five years after being released. Below some reasons and solutions of the issue will be discussed in details.

To begin with, those who used to be inmates have a hard time to find a job, moreover, not having opportunity to earn money and sustain themselves has a deteriorating effect on former prisoners. Consequently, many of them might be considering committing a crime to get some cash. Furthermore, if we take a closer look at the described situation, the second cause of the problem will become noticeable – negative social attitude. In average, law-abiding citizens are suspicious and even afraid of the yesterday’s inmates. This attitude probably makes the ex-inmates to feel abandoned and ousted by society. Thus, they are pushed by the situation to commit a crime.

However, causes that were discussed above might be successfully addressed. Firstly, creating new government backed social programs that are aimed to help the released individuals to find a job could have a dramatic positive effect on the number crimes committed by the released from jail. To illustrate, a former criminal who has been employed and is able to make enough money to support himself need not look for illegal ways to earn some cash.

The last but not the lease point is that attitude to ex-inmates has to be changed in the society. Contemporary society has a plethora of biases and prejudices about those who were convicted. Those biases should be addressed. Probably, raising awareness about challenges that are faced every day by those who want to change their lives after being punished and served their terms may bring some positive results. In other words, there is a need to accept and include those who are willing to change into society.

To sum up, statistics states that many of those who were released out of jail would commit new crimes because they have no legal way to make money and are ousted by others. However, if government makes steps to help those people to find jobs, it will have an enormous positive impact on the statistics and fewer ex-inmates will violate the law again.