Many employers find that their new employees lack sufficient interpersonal skills such as lack of ability to work with colleagues as a team. What are the causes? Can you suggest some possible solutions?

Newly recruited workers seem to lack fundamental interpersonal skills such as cooperation ability. Rationales for such deficiency include their inexperience and insufficient soft skill training from their former institutions. There is a need for companies and tertiary education to tailor their skill training courses.

Workers who are lacking in interpersonal skills can be due to their limited exposure to practical working situations. It is reasonable that they, employees, may not have had the opportunities to collaborate effectively with their former colleagues or clients in their previous jobs. This contributes to the insufficient ability to navigate the demands of a professional work environment where interpersonal skills are essential. The lack of experience and exposure to practical situations where they can exercise their interpersonal skills can be a significant hindrance to the development of these skills in newly-hired workers. Lessons in these schools may have more emphasis on theoretical knowledge, not on soft skills, which will create a working-stimulated environment where employees can familiarize themselves with current working conditions.

There are some viable solutions that can be implemented by companies and universities to address the problem. Companies can change their working conditions by integrating more group-focused activities allowing colleagues to collaborate with others. Not only will this help to train newly hired workers the ability to work cooperatively, but this is also a great way to build strong bonds among workers. Moreover, tertiary institutions need to tailor their syllabus, incorporating more workshops and lessons specializing in job-related skills. Making these activities a compulsory part of students’ curriculum will help them, undergraduates, pay more attention and effectively learn more from these lessons.

In conclusion, the lack of interpersonal skills stems from insufficient work experience and improper training in the employees’ education system. This shortcoming can be deterred by having soft skill training courses prior to practical working conditions.