Many foods are shipped from far away. Some people think that eating local food is more environmentally and economically. Do you think the advantages outweigh its disadvantages.

food products are basically a necessity in one’s daily life. they are being imported from other countries to meet the end needs of residents. however, relying much on food imports could lead to disbalance in the economy. Even though its benefits will outweigh the negative aspect. this essay will discuss pros and cons of food imports.

Firstly, countries with extreme weather conditions, where it is cold most part of the year, relies on the import for the grains during winter. having said that, scarcity of food and grains due to this, needs to be fulfilled to meet the end needs by bringing food from other parts of the world. In winters, soil become damp and it is very hard to cultivate crops during that time. For instance, countries like Canada and most part of the Europe relies on the imports in winter. it is quintessential for these countries to maintain their stock in winters, which is only possible if they have proper system in place.

On the other hand, importing food discourages the consumption of local produce food, which, in the long run will hampers the agriculture sector. As, when people get habitual of convenience of importing food and grains then they less rely on the local produce. this, in turn, leads to decline in the countries gross domestic product from agriculture sector and economy disbalance. however, where it is not possible to produce enough to meet the end needs of the country, import could do miracles and will open the gates for diverse grains and option to explore internationally.

To recapitulate, economies with shortage of food grains have no option but to import the food. but where weather conditions are good, governments should encourage local food by putting extra custom duties on imports. having said that, benefits outweighs negatives to import food where country can not meet the requirement of its citizens.