Many foods are shipped from far away. Some people think that eating local food is more environmentally and economically. Do you think the advantages outweigh its disadvantages?

Food is the basic need of every animal. However, many foods are not produced locally due to the environmental factors and lack of required ecosystem. Therefore, as a practice foods will transport long away to there market. By the way, Some people think, use of local food is much more good for the environment and economically than use of shipped products.

Use of local foods are more nutrition rich as no use of chemicals and long run transportation, which creates considerable waste. Furthermore, most of the shipped foods are packed on plastic based or matalic based packaging, which is not good at all to release to the environment as directly impact on environment pollution. In addition, most of the local food are processed not only chemically free in transportation but also in the production stage, which gives organic products to the home. Therefore, use of local food is good for both environment and health.

Considering the food industry, the varieties of foods expands on large spectrum due to the geographical, cultural and economical reasons on each area. Moreover, due to unbalance on supply and demand curves, foods need to be shipped from place to place. In addition, impossibility of local food production, which requires special ecosystems, need to be transport from excess market, where produce the items in mass scale providing lower cost due to the economic of scale. Therefore, use of some shipped foods gain more economical benefits than local foods.

Even though people think on eating local food I more environmentally and economically, it is depends on the area leaved and the availability of the food. Therefore, food discipline is required when searching th foods by considering the eco-friendliness and the own economic condition. There are both advantages and disadvantages on use of local food if not properly understand the requirement of usage.