Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Economic progress is seen by many politicians as their main aim. At the same time, some aver that attention ought to be paid not only to economic progress but to other types of it in even proportions. Below both prospects will be discussed and author’s opinion will be given.

On the one hand, maintenance and buttressing of economic progress often has the highest priority for many governments. This is an understandable stance due to the fact that strong and vigorous economy benefits a society in many ways. For instance, there are a plethora of jobs available, employees’ salaries are growing, revenue of businesses keeps increasing and overall standards of living are rocketing as well. Consequently, if politicians manage to maintain state’s economy in a great shape, the voters will be satisfied and contented people will be giving their voices to the elected officials in power who have brought them prosperity. Thus, government’s believe that economic progress has a crucial importance is reasonable.

On the other hand, there are those who point out that other kinds of progress should not be neglected. Although those other types are less propelled by the mass media and politicians do not usually include them in their speeches, such progress as technological has been having a great impact on the humankind for many centuries. In fact, this progress has shaped our cities, homes and even the way we live. For instance, all means of transportation and communication that are used by people routinely are fruits that have been brought to the mankind by technological progress. Moreover, there is scientific, moral and other types of progress that play a considerable role in maintaining healthy functioning of a modern society. Thus, not only economic progress but other types of it as well seem to be evenly important.

Finally, in my opinion, although there is indeed a wide variety of progress that has effect on the way the society is working, I think that they aren’t equally important because economic underpins functioning of any country. Moreover, economic progress is essential for other types of progress because if there is sluggish economy there will be no resources available to develop new technologies or moral codes.