Many modern children spend a great deal of time sitting in front of a television or computer screen. This is extremely harmful to their development. Therefore, parents should strictly limit the time that children spend in this way.

It is generally accepted that spending too much time in front of the TV harms children's’ development. Therefore,in my opinion, parents should by all means limit their children's’ TV and computer screen time, especially while they are younger.

New generation of youngsters, especially children under school and pubertal age groups are television and computer addicts, evidenced by long hours of time being with those modern technologies. Indeed, this social trend is alarming since it could affect their social, mental, and physiologic functions. Along with this, I strongly believe that parents should impose specific discipline appertaining to the length of time their children utilize those gadgets.

Irrefutably, computers and televisions are informative, entertaining, and enjoyable not only to children but for adult as well. Diverse advantages have been brought to the modern world because of new media as those, however, long hours of time spent in front of television and computer screens would mean disturbing effects to children. For one, health issues due to radiation and prolonged sitting could lead to eye, back and posture problems for these young audiences. Similarly, it could minimize their time to interact with families and friends, thus, deterring with their social life.

That said, parents being the major guardians of these kids should rigorously set specific periods of exposure to televisions and computers. Basically, an active role is essential as parents must create and innovate alternative activities on how their children can spend their time with pleasure. They can guide the children to learn time management and effective self-discipline. Similarly, parents can institute some programs to encourage children to do other activities, away from those technologies, accompanied by gifts, rewards, and praises as ways of appreciation and recognition of accomplishments. Most importantly, parents must serve as role models, ‘practicing what they preach’ as old adage say, as children tend to imitate what they see from elder ones.

Conclusively, using computers and viewing through television over an extensive period of time is an observable worrisome trend, among children. Parents should never leave this issue unattended, thus, must enforce due time restraint before it turns to be their children’s unbreakable habit.