In many modern societies, grandchildren spend any time with their grandparents.

What do you think are the consequences of this?

In the modern world, family’s relationship is a discussed topic. One of them is the time grandchildren spend with their grandparents. In this essay I will further explain the consequences of this and give my opinion.

Sociologists claim that family relationships has different concepts in different countries, heritage and culture. For instance families from Latin background tend to be closer than others background. Therefore, it is ordinary in a house of a family from Latin background we have a grandparent living together. For instance, in Italian families it is very common take the grandmother to live in your house instead to enrolled her on an Aged care house. However, in Australia, Aged care houses are very common.

Despite the differences of culture and background, some people believe that be closer to your grandparents has some advantages. First, grandparents have the most information from your family and can tell stories that will make you know better your family. Second, grandparents has more free time to take care of the children, especially when both parents work, a hand from grandparents can be very useful. Third, it is important to an ageing feel useful and for some of them be useful helping educating their grandchildren is very reward.

On the other hand, there are some concerned about how much liberty the grandparents has on children education. Some people believe that it is very vital to set boundaries. For example, nowadays both parents need to work and they ask for grandparents take care of their kids. However, if they do not have a clear conversation about boundaries this can become a family issue. In addition, some parents do not have a good relationship with their parents and this has a consequence on grandchildren, which will be private to spend time with their grandparents.

This essay discussed the relationship between grandparent and grandchildren. In my opinion, spend time with your grandparent is beneficial for grandchildren and vice versa. However, it is important for the family work together and set boundaries to make sure that all roles can be respected.