Many museums and historical sites are mostly visited by foreign tourists , but not local people. Why do you think it happens? What can be done to attract local visitors to these sites?

Historical places and museums are sources of attraction mostly for international visitors; however, native people pay no visit to these places. The lack of new sources of attraction and high entry charges are the reasons behind the little interest of local people for these sites. Some measures need to be taken at individual and government level to encourage local people to visit cultural sites.

To begin with, there are plethora of reasons for the less interest of local people in visiting museums and historical places. Firstly, people feel bore while visiting such places. In other words, natives are mostly familiar with the culture and history of the historical buildings, visiting the same sites are considered as waste of time by them. Moreover, the traditional artworks in museums is admired by tourists only, the repetitive visits of natives to these places generate feeling of boredom. Secondly, the museums and historical sites charge high entry fees for every visit, this discourage the local visitors to spend money on already visited places. For instance, a famous cultural site named 'Sada Pind' in Amritsar charges Rs.1000 for every single visitor, the natives avoid spending this much amount on every visit.

There are some possible solutions that can be taken by authorities and individuals to generate interest among people for historical places and museums. Primarily, to make the places more attractive for local people cultural events,exhibitions and animated shows should be organised. For instance, in the famous temple 'Akshardham' , laser show is filmed that describes different religious stories on daily basis, this inculcates the curiosity and encourages people to visit the place. Next, there should be reduction in entry charges for the native people for some specific days, this will encourage people to visit these places. Also, students should be assigned some research work related to history and culture, this will motivate students and their parents to visit the historical places and collect some useful information.

To conclude, it can be stated that local visitors offer less interest in visiting historical places and museums, as they do not gather any new information from these places. To make these places more attractive interesting events needs to be organised and free entry passes should be given to native people.