Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to people outweigh the disadvantages?

Many museums opt to sell entrance tickets to visitors while others open to the public for free. While historical relics can be preserved better when museums charge for admission, this essay argues that the disadvantage of losing people's interests far outweighs any merit.

The exhibits stored in museums are sure to be taken care of better when visitors are charged an entrance fee. This is to say that the money from the visitors can be used to equip more tools and workers to clean and protect historical items every day. As a result, these items will not be degraded and stay in good conditions for a very long time. For example, the national museum in Ho Chi Minh City, which charges people 5 dollars when entering, always have the shiniest vases and other relics from the Tran's dynasty ready for views. However, even when a museum has items with the best conditions, it is still considered dead if there is no one viewing inside.

A huge drawback when charging an entrance fee is that visitors will become less interested in visiting museums. This is because there are many great activities that cost nothing during the day for people to participate in other than going to museums. If museums are not free, they cannot compete with other entertainment activities; thus, they cannot attract people to come. For instance, the museum mentioned above has been left with no visitors for the last 2 years. This essay believes that this disadvantage causes museums to fail their purpose to educate people about history and, therefore, far outweighs the advantage.

In conclusion, despite that charging admission allows museums to preserve antique objects better, the disadvantage of visitors loss seems to be concerning because the education purpose of museums will be meaningless if there is no one viewing and learning.