Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to people outweigh the disadvantages?

Museums not only preserve but also represent the traditional culture of the country. Visiting to museum is very interesting and informative. Folks come to know about their ancestors' life style, culture, tastes, social life and many more. An entry fee to these museums , at the same time, can be beneficial and discouraging too. I shall discuss my views in the upcoming paragraphs.

To initiate with, if people are charged an entry fee to museums that means they are giving their small share to keep the ancestral belongings intact for the next generation. It gives them a sense of duty towards their culture. Moreover, sometimes, the funds given by the government are not adequate for the maintenance of them. Additionally, putting an entry fee means there will not be an unnecessary crowd of people. Only those who are actually interested to know the history and various artifacts will be the visitors.

On the contrary, charging an admission fee would be discouraging for a particular group of people like students, the poor families who are interested to get to know their past. Youngsters, then, prefer to spend money on watching movies and going to picnic spots. This means that the purpose of maintaining the museums will be defeated. On the top of it, usually tourists do not like to pay to get an entry into it. Besides this, it is entirely government's duty to grant sufficient funds for the overall maintenance of these; as the citizens are already paying enormous amount of taxes.

To crown it all, museums are meant for public. Government should provide required funds to the authorities so that the common man can make the best use of it. A free entry would , definitely, attract many visitors especially students and tourists. Government's motive should not be to make money out of it rather to make sure that people are aware of their history and various historical figures.