Many Offenders commit more crime after serving the first punishments Why is this happening and what measures can be taken to tackle this problems

Some criminals indeed commit crimes again after they have been punished for the first time, and such offenders are increasingly widespread across society. Most importantly, the issue has been a bone of contention among psychologists and sociologists regarding its repetition at an alarming rate. To the best of my knowledge, there are specific reasons which are burgeoning this trend, and the various imperative implication should be applied to curb it.

The principal reason is the lack of rehabilitation counseling during imprisonment. As a result, criminal viewpoints regarding the offense will remain the same, or even it can be worsening. Therefore, after the duration of the penalty, it is very likely for them to commit other unlawful activities. Probably the second most important reason behind this is the issue of unemployment due to criminal background. This has resulted in them being involved in further illegal activities to overcome the financial challenge, leading them to be a regular criminal in society. So, lack of employment has a direct link with such repetition.

When dealing with the first reason, an effective way to work it out would be to initiate and implement cognitive-behavioral therapy or CBT by the government. This will help the offenders understand the deeper meaning of life and rejuvenate their moral standards, allowing them to change their perception of crimes. In the UK, for example, every offender in their custody must enroll in such a CBT program. Because of that, only 4% of criminals had found with a second-time criminal record. Reaction to the second issue is arranging vocational education and training programs by the prison authority so that they could live in society by utilizing such experiences. In China, for instance, each criminal must learn practical work-based training such as preparing handy-craft items, repairing electronics, driving, and the like. Therefore, it will allow them to live independently without making further illegal efforts.

In conclusion, to tackle the reappearance of wrongdoings, it is necessary to provide them with psychological treatment and practical training to change their insight and live self-reliantly.