Some people think that art is an essential subject for children at school while others think it is a waste of time. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

In recent years, the importance of art in school curricula has been gaining a great deal of attention to encourage creativity among children. Most importantly, the issue has become a bone contention among academic experts regarding its inclusion in the school syllabus. While some people consider it a wastage of time, I would contend that it should be considered a mandatory subject for a child at a certain level.

On the one hand, art inevitably promotes creativity. Children exposed to art-related activities such as drawing, crafting, painting and many more significantly develop cognitive functions such as thinking and analytical capability. Therefore, it could be a significant trigger to release the inner potentiality of children in their next period of life. An empirical survey conducted in the UK last year reflects the same notion. The surveys show that children who had art in their syllabus till 5th grade were 40% more creative in thinking than those involved in other issues rather than art. Hence, having art in the school curriculum might be an important initiative for the well-being of nations.

On the other hand, in this fiercely competitive arena, some people think that carrier oriented studies, namely Science, Maths and many more to be included only in the school syllabus. By studying such productive subjects, students will understand practical knowledge to beat the competition in the real world, which might play a vital role in having a suitable career in the future. Moreover, adding art to the syllabus will also burden their study load. The initiatives in Taiwan can exemplify this for the last few decades, where the government is subsidizing the educational cost by emphasizing productive knowledge only, which is reflected in Taiwan’s growth of GDP from 5% to 12% in the last five years. Hence, to them, having art as a school subject seems a waste of time.

In conclusion, people should not lessen the value of art should for the sake of a growing economy. I believe young aspirants should be kept from the regular rat race competition for their mental development. We can fortify Our next generation at a significant level by employing art and cultural activities at their initial age.