Many offenders commit more crimes after serving the first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

It is argued that after serving the first penalty, a lot of criminals continue to engage and commit number of crimes. This essay will discuss firstly, unable to find a work and social rejection are key reasons for this and then, discuss the solution of providing training to learn useful skills which could help to get hired.

To begin with, several offenders find it difficult to live a normal life in the present society after coming out of detention center. The tag of criminal follows them forever in professional as well as in personal life. For example, many people don’t get a second chance of employment when past history shows up in background screening. Moreover, in most of the cases, isolation from immediate family members and friends make things worst with no emotional and financial support. Failure to meet basic needs of food and money, many choose easy way out by involving in further minor or major criminal activities such as pick pocketing or robbery respectively.

It is extremely important that offenders have enough skills to secure a job after leaving the prison. Therefore, the very first solution is to provide valuable training in prison which can be commercialized later on such as computer programming, basic carpentry skills, and basic car maintenance skills. Secondly, it is recommended that government should consider making changes in legislation which will make it illegal to discriminate individuals based on their past felonies. This would encourage social acceptance among the community and might reduce the number of re-offenders.

In conclusion, many offenders are sometimes left with no other option but to engage in illegal acts for their survival, however, government can educate them and encourage community to give them second chance to live a normal life.