Some people believe that it is the responsibility of individuals to take care of their own health and diet. Others however believe that governments should make sure that their citizens have a healthy diet.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is argued that it is people’s duty to look after their own fitness and diet, while others believe that it is the responsibility of the state authority to ensure people have a nutritious diet. This essay believes that it is people’s responsibility to incorporate healthy food and regular exercise as a part of their lifestyle. The essay will first discuss how government tries to provide healthy food and then mention that it is essential for individual to look after their lifestyle.

Every year government spend millions of dollars on importing the vegetables and the fresh fruits from other countries to ensure the supply of essential food sources to its people. This is because unique weather and soil conditions limit the farming of certain fruits, vegetables, and other food sources. For example, the USA can’t produce green vegetables in the winter season; therefore, it relies heavily on Mexico for the supply of fresh vegetables. Government certainly looks after their peoples dietary and health needs by often initiating such bilateral trades.

Although authorities ensure availability of the nutritious food, it is their citizen’s choice weather to opt for it or to consume junk food. I believe it is essential that people should be cautious about their health and food habits. It is a fact that people who exercise regularly and follow monitored diet live longer, and are less prone to heart related diseases. For example, a research study from the Oxford University found that cholesterol levels could be reduced by 30%, if people do 30 minutes of cardio and stop eating meat. Therefore, it is solely people’s responsibility to adapt the daily life which has proven beneficial for humans.

In conclusion, there is no doubt that government takes essential steps to ensure availability of rich food sources. However, it is up to individuals to look after their health by incorporating healthy ways of living.