Many offenders commit more crimes after serving the first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

Recent studies showed that after the first sentence many perpetrators commit crimes again. This essay will discuss major reasons of the tendency and propose some measures that governments make take in order to solve this problem.

One of the main causes why punishment does not attain it’s goal of correction and integration of formal inmates into the society is because many of them lack of skills that are indispensible to obtain a work. Many offenders don’t have a formal education and barely have gained any working experience . Therefore, they cannot acquire a job and are compelled to get money for living by robbery or selling drugs. Moreover, the environment of prison have a negative psychological influence on inmates. They share their experience and values with each other and consider it as normal and acceptable. As a result, they continue a violent behavior in the outside world after being released.

To solve this problem governments should focus more on rehabilitation of offenders rather than on punishment. First of all, educational courses and training should be provided for inmates. Professional skills and relevant experience , such as baking or computer programming, for instance, will enable to successfully obtain a job outside of the prison. Furthermore, participation in community service would allow prisoners to spend some time in a socially friendly environment in comparison to the hostile atmosphere of a prison. Socializing and communication with adequate individuals would grant them with valuable experience of civilized interaction between people and teach them what behavior is acceptable in the society and how rewarding it is.

In conclusion, there are several issues associated with imprisonment that result in ex-convicts coming crime over again. However, such measures as education and community service provided for inmates can be implemented by governments to tackle the problem.