Wealthy nations should assist pooper countries with humanitarian relief during natural disasters. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays earthquakes, hurricanes , tsunami and tornados occur all around the world. Some people claim that when such accidents take place in poor countries rich nations should step up and provide humanitarian aid for those in need. I completely agree with this statement.

To begin with, developing countries often do not have sufficient funds to allocate money for sustenance, medicine and shelter for its citizens during catastrophic events. Natural disasters destroy houses, hospitals and harvests leaving thousands of people without a shelter and possibility to satisfy basic needs. However, difficult economical situation in poor countries may not allow to fulfill all these demands as it requires significant expenses. As a result, many people may die from starvation and lack of medical treatment thought and after the disaster. On contrary, wealthy nations can afford such contribution and therefore to save many lives. For example, when an earthquake occurred in Haiti in 00’s many western countries sent clothes, food , medicine and equipment. Thousands of people survived due to this relief.

Moreover, international assistance and participation in dealing with consequences of natural disasters facilitates cooperation and friendship between nations in the future. The government of the country in need could pay back the favor by reducing import taxes and ease trade policies . This would lead to stronger business connections between countries bringing a profit for both economies. For instance, when Japan was hit by tsunami Vietnam came forward and offered 200 thousand dollars for humanitarian purposes. Japan in return lowered taxes for some of the imported goods from Vietnam establishing thriving trade connection between the countries.

To conclude, undoubtedly prosperous nations ought to render necessary aid in the time of natural disasters in the underprivileged regions of our planet. This action would rescue a lot of human lives and ensure closer relationships between countries.