Wealthy nations should assist pooper countries with humanitarian relief during natural disasters. Do you agree or disagree?

Firstly, it is a public consensus that richer countries with a more thriving economy should provide aid to the poorer nations in the good faith and will of humanitarian relief during periods of natural disasters. Whilst there are a couple of disadvantages to receiving assistance from foreign states, I agree and believe that this is in fact and indisputably the right way to go when such circumstances arise.

Furthermore, during a natural disaster the main concern here is not the egos of politicians but the lives of the many affected people. Some of these people are seeking food, water, clothes or basic hospital amenities that their government is most likely is unable to supply all of them at the time. In my opinion, it is our primary responsibilities as humans to preserve the lives of others first, therefore, foreign aid should sought after. Secondly, due to the unpredictability of life in general, nations of higher economical strength and spending power should give assistance to the nations in need to expect a reciprocity when the tables will be turned, as well as to strengthen ties between countries. In 1959, during the civil war in Nigeria, the united Kingdom and many other countries made for better relationship between the two sovereign states.

Notwithstanding, a wealthy nation sending help to poorer countries may lead to dependence on them which is always a bad omen. Nevertheless, they rich nation should seek other ways to give assistance asides from monetary gifts. Whereas, this could be in form of provision of health care facilities, food supply, volunteers among many others.

In conclusion, the benefits of humanitarian relief from wealthier nations far outweigh the disadvantages for both parties and thus should be considered a definite responsibility for them. Originally, this is the reason institutions like the united nations, UNICEF and other global unions have been setup; to check and regulate the societal activities and impact of nations between one another, especially during inevitable moments of war and natural disaster.