In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family

A question regarding care about old people has been raised recently. It’s argued that the government should pay retirement houses’ expenses whereas other are of the opinion that this financial burden should be handled by relatives of elderlies. In my point of view , this is primarily the responsibility of the government.

Some people claimed that family should pay for the nursing care of their older relatives. It’s believed that this is children’s duty to repay their parents for the care they gave them during their childhood. Parents spend enormous amounts of money for clothes, food, toys and education of their offsprings. Therefore, when they become old and need assistance themselves , it’s time for their children to express their love through supporting them financially. However , some families live in poverty and struggling to pay their bills . So they are not able to look after their older relatives due to limited financial resources.

So governmental financing of nursery houses for elderlies would be the best solution for this issue. The imperative reason for that is a guarantee that all citizens will receive a proper care when they get old regardless their family or financial situation. Sometimes people don’t have children or savings to receive indispensable care when they become old and feeble. This may result in higher mortality among such people due to insufficient feed and diseases. For example, a recent study showed that death rate among people over 60 years old is 60% higher in poor regions of Russia than in a relatively wealthy ones. Authorities could take a initiative to take care of them by providing a shelter and medical aid. Nevertheless this measure would require additional expenses from the state budget. It can be solved by establishing funds where people would have to pay throughout their lives. Money from the fund can withdrawn on nursery purposes when an individual reach a certain age limit.

To conclude, although I acknowledge the importance of a children’s duty to take care of their parents when they get old, I believe that governments would provide more solid assistance at this matter as it secures the future of all citizens.