Nowadays an ordinary person can become popular through the Internet and TV media. Is it a positive or a negative development? Give your opinion and relevant examples.

With the invention of the Internet and development of TV media more and more of ordinary people become famous. Some people see this trend as a beneficial one whereas other argue that it causes a harm to the society. In my opinion, it’s rather a negative development. This essay will discuss both sides of the tendency.

Some believe that the Internet and TV shows provide an unique opportunity for anyone to gain money from something they enjoy to do. For example, talented singers may participate in musical TV shows, such as Voice. As a result , they become popular and recognizable , therefore they can give concerts for their new admirers and release music albums which their fans would purchase. Another example is various channels on Youtube where people create short videos on different subjects such as comedy, travel , history , etc. If a channel obtain many subscribers and views of the videos the owner may receive substantial amounts of money from sponsors and advertisement.

However, a fast popularity on internet or TV media may convey a false message to the people especially the young ones that it is possible to financially secure themselves without a sufficient effort. Some youngsters spend tremendous amount of time taking photos and making videos in hope to gain popularity on Instagram or Youtube. In fact, only a small percent of people actually attains the success due to enormous competition in the entertainment industry. This time could be instead devoted to the developing the more practical skills which would be suitable for a future career. In other words, an illusion of easy and definite success on internet and TV media distracts people from pursuing more realistic career related goals.

To conclude, I acknowledge the benefits and opportunities that Internet and TV media provides to the people. However, I’m concerned that a lot of time may be wasted in chasing popularity in highly competitive field. Consequently it may have a detrimental effect on people’s professional lives.