In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping.

Is this a positive or negative development ?

There has been a tendency over the last years that some people prefer to make their shopping in malls or shopping centers instead of purchasing goods in local stores. That resulted in closure of many local businesses. Undoubtedly , this development has some drawbacks. However, I am of the opinion that this development benefits outweighs its disadvantages.

On the one hand, owners of small stores that have been outcompeted by huge malls are compelled to close their businesses and they may lose their primary source of income. As a result, an unemployment rate in the community may increase. For example, many small stores are often involve family members in its functioning. If a store declare bankruptcy , the entire family may be left without sufficient financial support. However, if malls are presented in the area, the former owners of local stores may consider applying for a job there. Having an experience in operating a store they may become appealing candidates for an employer. Another issue would be a loss of unique hand made products that small businesses offer to a community. For instance, home-made bread or baking. Nevertheless, I believe those kind of stores would retain their customers, because some people prefer hand-made goods instead of mass market products. Therefore, they would survive and continue contributing into the society.

On the other hand, big malls and shopping centers bring a lot of benefits for local residents. Firstly, they are time-efficient for its customers. Since a wide range of goods is presented in shopping centers, people can purchase everything they need in one place without having travelling to different stores. Consequently, they would spend less time on shopping and could devote this time to families and work. Moreover, big shopping centers usually offer lower prices and provide discounts because they purchase goods in bulk from manufacturers at a reduced cost. Hence, the visitors may save a substantial amount of money on their shopping.

To conclude, although large shopping centers certainly have a detrimental effect on smaller local businesses, I believe benefits they provide for people are much greater.