The idea of having a single career is becoming an old fashioned one. The new fashion will be to have several careers or ways of earning money and further education will be something that continues throughout life. To what extent do you agree?

The technological advancement has been having a major impact on the labour market during the past decade. It used to be a common practice among people to have a singular career during their whole lives. However, the current situation demands flexibility and adaptation from a prospective employee, hence, a lifelong learning would be needed to ensure the employment.

Whereas innovations enhance people’s lives in many ways, they inevitably make competition for jobs tougher. More and more duties that used to be done by humans are now performed by robots and computers, and this tendency will be developing further. Therefore, it is indispensable to have several qualifications and different abilities to be financially secure. For example, a labour worker of an automobile factory was a popular profession in the beginning of the twentieth century. But this job had been gradually undertaken by newly invented industrial robots in later years leaving many employees unemployed as they failed to adapt to the new situation.

To stay competitive on the job market and keep up with the fast technological development the continuing education has to become a new trend. Obtaining new skills and knowledge in various fields facilitates employability of a person. Combination of competence in MS Office computer programs in addition to main duties has already become a common demand by companies for their workers. Moreover, professionals would have to take up further trainings to update their knowledge and practical skills as computers, machinery and equipment are being upgraded in the course of time. Surgeons, for instance, more often operate with up-to-date laser scalpels rather than old-fashioned scalpels, and this method requires different expertise.

Given that the technological modernization and inventions will likely proceed altering situation on job markets, such steps as acquiring and improving skills in different areas can be taken by working people to assure a profound career in the future.